×
×

SMS alerts about your mobile usage

With the MyProximus app, you can keep track of how much you call, text and surf. If you have a mobile subscription, we will send you free alerts about your current in-bundle and out-of-bundle usage. If you exceed your bundle, surfing via 3G/4G will be restricted. If you wish, you can deactivate this block.

When do you get an SMS alert? How can you change this?

Do you have a subscription with a monthly bundle for calling, texting or surfing? In that case, you receive an SMS:

  • when you have used up all or part of your bundle;
  • when you have used up €10 and then €50 on top of your bundle.

The SMS messages are immediately sent to the number concerned, but for older subscriptions, there may be a delay (max. 11 hours). In any case, we do not send alerts between midnight and 7 a.m.. If you surf via 3G/4G on a tablet, laptop or Apple device, the alert will appear on your screen.

If you have almost reached your limit or have exceeded your Internet volume, you can purchase extra data.

Prefer not to receive SMS messages? Or when you reach a different limit? As an administrator, you can change this in MyProximus (via the website or in some cases via the app). How this is done depends on the type of bill you have:

Do you have a bill with a red transfer form?
  1. Log in to MyProximus website to adapt your alerts.
    Adapt your alerts
  2. Select your number and scroll down. In the SMS alerts column, click Modify.
  3. Adjust the limits at which you want to receive an SMS alert. If you want to stop receiving alerts, select Modify status.
  4. Click Configure and Confirm.
Do you have a bill without a red transfer form?
Do you have a recent subscription (Mobilus, Bizz Mobile, etc.)?

You can do this via the MyProximus app and the MyProximus website:

Via the MyProximus app:

  1. Open the app and tap Products.
  2. Select your number and tap Settings followed by Other.
  3. Tap on SMS notifications (usage). If you want to stop receiving alerts, slide the button to Off.
  4. In Define my notifications, fill in the amounts above your bundle at which you want to receive an SMS alert.
  5. Tap Confirm.

Via the MyProximus website:

  1. Log in to MyProximus to adapt your alerts.
    Adapt your alerts
  2. Select your number and click Settings followed by Other.
  3. In Send me a message when I exceed my bundle, fill in the amounts above your bundle at which you want to receive an SMS alert. If want to stop receiving alerts, slide the button to Off.
  4. Click Confirm.
Do you have an older subscription?
  1. Log in to MyProximus website to adapt your alerts.
    Adapt your alerts
  2. Select your mobile number. Click More details about your calling credit.
  3. Click the section Control additional costs.
  4. In Out-of-bundle limit, modify the out-of-bundle amount at which you want to receive an SMS alert, and click Continue.

You can block pay-for numbers or limit calls and texts for yourself or for another number you manage. And we give you tips for cheaper surfing.

How do we limit your mobile data expenses?

To avoid high bills or charges, we limit or block your possibility of surfing via 3G/4G. How this is done depends on your location, your bill, and your subscription.

You are in Belgium
Do you have a bill with a red bank transfer form?

If you do not have a mobile data bundle in your subscription, your 3G/4G connection will be blocked if you have used up €60 (incl. VAT) of data.

  • You will receive an alert by SMS just before and when you reach this data usage limit.
  • You will be able to surf via 3G/4G again as from the start of the next billing period.
  • If you want to surf again sooner than that, you can purchase an additional data bundle or deactivate the block.

If you have a mobile data bundle in your subscription, your surfing speed will be limited to 128 Kbps if you have used up your bundle completely.

  • You will receive an alert by SMS just before and when your bundle has been used up completely.
  • If you want to surf faster again sooner than that, you can purchase an additional data bundle.
Do you have a bill without a red bank transfer form

Your 3G/4G connection, including for your Favorite App, will be blocked when you have used up €60 (incl. VAT) of data on top of your normal bundle.

  • You will receive an alert by SMS just before and when you reach this data usage limit.
  • You will be able to surf via 3G/4G again as from the start of the next billing period, which corresponds to the beginning of the next month.
  • If you want to surf again sooner than that, you can purchase an additional data bundle or deactivate the block.
You are outside Belgium, but within the EU

Your 3G/4G connection, including for your Favorite App, will be blocked when you have used up €60 (incl. VAT) of data on top of your normal bundle.

  • You will receive an alert by SMS just before and when you reach this surfing limit.
  • You will be able to surf via 3G/4G again as from the start of the next billing period, when your counters are reset to zero again.
  • If you want to surf again sooner than that, you can purchase an additional data bundle or deactivate the block.
You are outside the EU

Your 3G/4G connection will be blocked as soon as you have used up €60 (incl. VAT) on data or, if you have a bundle or option to surf more cheaply, when you have used up €60 (incl.VAT) on top of your bundle or option.

  • You will receive an alert by SMS just before and when you reach this surfing limit.
  • You will be able to surf via 3G/4G again as from the start of the next billing period. If you are abroad at that point, you will receive an SMS message about this.
  • If you want to surf again sooner than that, you can deactivate the block.
The surfing limitation applies only to 3G/4G
When we limit or block your data usage, this applies only to surfing via 3G/4G. You will still be able to surf via Wi-Fi.
Want to continue to surf after being blocked?

Your 3G/4G connection is blocked, but you want to continue to surf? In that case, you can deactivate the surfing limit, as a result of which, on top of the  €60 (incl. VAT), you will be charged the out-of-bundle rate when you surf.

How you go about this depends on your situation:

Do you have a bill with a red bank transfer form?

You can permanently or temporarily deactivate the limit for data usage abroad. You can only do so via the MyProximus website. For this, you must be registered on MyProximus and be the administrator of your account.

  1. Log in to MyProximus to deactivate the surfing limit.
    Deactivate your data limit
  2. Click on My Products and select your mobile subscription.
  3. In the Options box, click on the plus sign Activate the surfing limit abroad and then click on Modify.
  4. Scroll down to Surfing limit abroad. You can now choose between two options:
    • Temporary deactivation: You no longer have a surfing limit until the start of your next billing period.
    • Permanent deactivation: You no longer have a surfing limit, not for the following months either.
  5. Scroll up, click on Configure and then on Submit. You will now be charged the out-of-bundle rate when you surf.
Do you have a bill without a red bank transfer form?

You can deactivate the surfing limit until the end of the current month via MyProximus (app and website). For this, you must be registered on MyProximus and be the administrator of your account.

  1. Via the app? In the MyProximus app, tap on Products.
    Via the website? Click the button below and log in.
    Deactivate your data limit
  2. If necessary, select your mobile subscription.
  3. Click on Settings and then on Barring.
  4. You can now choose between three options:
    • Do you want to continue to surf in Belgium? At Surf without limit in Belgium, move the slider to On.
    • Do you want to continue to surf outside Belgium? At Surf without limit abroad, move the slider to On.
    • Do you want to continue to surf in and outside Belgium? Move both sliders to On and click on Activate each time.
  5. Tap Confirm or, if requested, accept the conditions and click on Activate.
  6. Please note that you will now be charged the out-of-bundle rate when you surf, until the start of the next month.

To protect you against high bills or payment statements, the surfing limit is automatically reactivated at the start of each month.

Did you find this helpful?

Thank you

Do you have a question?

Ask one of our advisors. Make your choice:

Need help?