Skip to main content
×
×

Proximus Innovation

Chromecast guest mode: turning the tv screen sociable again

amicimi

Guest posts

23/03/2015

Sounds familiar? You’re talking to your friend about an excursion you did. At one point you tell them to hold on: ‘I’ll show you’. And you take out your smartphone and show some pictures. This inspires your friends to show you something and they get out their phones too.

The new Chromecast guest mode entitles you to share experiences with the same ease on the big TV screen. Imagine all being seated together, you cannot show pictures of videos because you’re all too far away from each other. The television will help you do this.

The Chromecast stick

For those unfamiliar with the Chromecast stick: it’s a small HDMI stick you operate through your phone. You connect it straight to your TV and through your WIFI network you magically let appear things from your phone to your TV screen. Youtube videos, Netflix series or your own pictures. You can even broadcast your web browser on the screen or play a game. Since a few weeks this magic stick has a so called ‘guest mode’. This allows your friends to take over your TV screen with their phones without have to share the password to your WIFI network. From their side, no configuration needed either.

How to activate the guest mode?

As the host, first open your Chromecast to guest in the Chromecast application on your phone. You can do this by clicking on the name of your Chromecast (mine is called ‘Salon Eliksem’), selecting guest mode and activating it. You will see a pin code appear but your guests should not need it. The pin code will also appear as guest pin code on your TV screen. Your guests will connect to your Chromecast by as always selecting the cast icon in a compatible application. Mind you, your guests need to have the Chromecast application installed on their phones. Instead of their own Chromecast, they choose to ‘cast to nearby device’ and their phone will automatically be connected to your TV. Apparently this operates through inaudible squeaky noises that are emitted by your television and are recognized by your guest’s phone. Sounds very science fiction like but it works without giving it any notice. And if it doesn’t function, this is where the pin code comes is being used, I presume.

‘Koen has joined’

The amazing thing about the guest mode is the way multiple people direct the screen at the same time. In our case, we were watching Youtube videos from each other’s playlists. When I connected to my Chromecast, the screen mentioned ‘Koen has joined’. On my phone, in Youtube, I saw the same video (description, comments and related videos included) as my friends saw on their phone. When I switched videos, not only did it appear on the TV screen but also on the video page on my friends’ phones. My friends could add videos to the TV’s playlist so they didn’t interrupt the video each time. We built a playlist together, each with our own phone. In this way, 4 people shared content on 1 screen.

Turning the TV screen sociable again

It’s hard to describe but the Chromecast guest mode gave us a wonderful evening. Everyone talks about the same thing (whatever is showing on the TV screen at that moment) en with a shared playlist you build the party together or cheekily take over with a funny cat video. Thanks to applications like the Chromecast guest mode TV continues confirming it’s central place in our living rooms.

Amicimi is born!

Koen Delvaux

Products

Proximus Innovation launches its very first product: Amicimi. Amicimi, in Latin translates to ‘my friend’. Forever ready to help. The name is well chose for the application that has been developed: an SOS button connected to your smartphone...

The coolest gadgets from MWC Barcelona

Koen Delvaux

Geek news

At the Mobile World Congress in Barcelona there was so much more to see than just new mobile phones...

White Hat Hacker Challenge: is our Homeview camera safe?

Koen Delvaux

Behind the scenes

We are looking for people who will test the safety of our Homeview camera in a controlled way...

Do you have a question?

Ask one of our advisors. Make your choice:

  • We call you back

    We call you backnot available at this moment

  • Chat with us on this website

    Chat with us on this websitenot available at this moment

Need help?

×
×

Proximus Innovation

Chromecast mode invité: le téléviseur redevient social

amicimi

Articles des invités

23/03/2015

Cela t’es déjà arrivé? Tu parles avec des amis d’une sortie que tu as faite. A un certain moment tu dis ‘attends, je vais te montrer’. Du coup tu sors ton smartphone et tu montres quelques photos. Cela inspire tes amis, qui sortent à leur tour leur téléphone pour montrer quelque chose.

Le nouveau mode invité de Chromecast permet de partager sur ton grand écran avec la même facilité. Quand tu es assis dans le divan, il est difficile de montrer des photos ou des films car on est assis loin de l’autre. Mais avec la télévision pas de soucis.

La clef Chromecast

Pour celui qui ne connait pas encore la clef Chromecast, il s’agit d’une petite clef HDMI que l’on contrôle avec son téléphone. Tu la branches directement à ton téléviseur et tu peux envoyer des infos de ton téléphone sur ton écran via le réseau WIFI. Des vidéos Youtube, des séries Netflix ou tes propres photos. Tu peux même faire apparaître ton navigateur internet sur ta télé ou t’amuser à un jeu. Cette clef magique est dotée depuis quelques semaines d’une mode invité. Tes amis pourront donc utiliser ton écran sans que tu aies besoin de donner le mot de passe de ton WIFI. Ils n’auront pas non plus de configuration à faire.

Comment activer le mode invité ?

Il faut d’abord autoriser Chromecast aux invités via l’application Chromecast de ton téléphone. Il suffit de cliquer sur le nom de ton Chromecast (le mien s’appelle ‘Salon Eliksem’), de sélectionner le mode invité et de choisir ‘activer’. Tu y vois également un code pin, mais tes invités n’en auront normalement pas besoin. Ce code pin s’affiche également sur ton écran. Tes invités se connectent avec ton Chromecast comme d’habitude avec l’application compatible.Ils doivent donc avoir l’application Chromecast installée. A la place de choisir leur propre Chromecast, ils doivent choisir ‘diffuser sur un appareil proche’ et leur téléphone sera automatiquement connecté à ton téléviseur. Cela fonctionne manifestement grâce à des tonalités inaudibles envoyées par ton téléviseur et reconnu par le téléphone de ton invité. Cela ressemble à de la science-fiction mais cela fonctionne sans y penser. Si cela ne fonctionne pas, je m’image que c’est à ce moment que le code pin devient utile.

‘Koen s’est connecté’

Ce qui est génial avec ce mode invité c’est qu’il apporte une nouvelle façon de contrôler l’écran par plusieurs personnes. Dans notre cas nous étions en train de regarder des vidéos Youtube des playlists de chacun. Quand je me suis connecté à mon Chromecast est apparu à l’écran ‘Koen s’est connecté’. La même vidéo est apparue dans l’application Youtube de mon téléphone, avec description, commentaires et vidéos conseillées. Quand j’ai lancé une nouvelle vidéo elle est non seulement apparue sur le téléviseur mais également sur les téléphones de mes amis. Ils pouvaient aussi ajouter des vidéos à la playlist de la télé de façon à ne pas interrompre celle en cours mais que nous puissions construire une playlist ensemble, chacun avec son propre téléphone. De cette manière quatre personnes ont partagé leur contenu sur un écran.

Le téléviseur redevient social

C’est difficile à décrire mais le mode invité de Chromecast nous a permis de passer une super soirée. On parle tous de la même chose (en l’occurrence de ce qui se passe à la télé) et tu construis une fête avec la playlist partagée ou tu changes carrément d’ambiance avec une vidéo de chat. C’est avec des technologies comme le mode invité Chromecast que la télé reprend sa place centrale dans le salon.

Amicimi est né!

Koen Delvaux

Produits

Proximus Innovation lance son premier produit: Amicimi. Traduit du Latin, Amicimi signifie ‘mon ami’. Toujours prêt à vous aider. Ce nom a bien été choisi pour l’application que cette société a développé : un boitier SOS connecté à votre smartphone...

Les gadgets les plus sympas du MWC de Barcelone

Koen Delvaux

News de Geek

Il y avait beaucoup plus à voir que les téléphones au Mobile World Congress de Barcelone...

White Hat Hacker Challenge: notre Homeview caméra est-elle sure?

Koen Delvaux

Dans les coulisses

Nous sommes à la recherche de personnes qui veulent nous aider à tester la sécurité de notre caméra Homeview...

Vous avez une question?

Posez-la à l'un de nos conseillers. Faites votre choix:

  • On vous rappelle

    On vous rappelleindisponible pour le moment

  • Chattez avec nous via notre site

    Chattez avec nous via notre siteindisponible pour le moment

Besoin d'aide?